Home » Breads » Sunshine Waffles

Sunshine Waffles

It’s time for the Gluten Free Ratio Rally! Our host this month is Morri at Meals with Morri…hop on over to her site for more recipes from the rally (after you read this post, of course! 😉

Given that I finished last month’s GFFR post super late, I thought about skipping this month’s baking challenge. However, when I saw that the upcoming challenge was for waffles, I knew that I couldn’t be left out. Why? I’m glad you asked.
wafflesWhen I was younger, my sisters and I would sometimes get to spend the night at my grandparents’ house. Every morning, my grandmother would get up about 7:00–way before any of us girls were awake–and start to make waffles.

Now, the waffle maker that my grandmother had was older than Methuselah, and would cook the waffles to a crisp (just before being burnt), and we loved them that way. Then she would top them with peanut butter and syrup (now I know where my mom learned that!), and we would chow down.

This is not my grandmother’s recipe for waffles…she used a pre-packaged mix 🙂
But the memory of waffles with Gran will always be precious to me.

Sunshine Waffles
For these waffles, I used Ruhlman’s ratio for pancakes which is 2 parts flour: 2 parts liquid: 1 part egg: 1/2 part fat…This is my first time using buckwheat flour (actually a gf flour!), and I really like the flavor it gives. I added the orange zest because it seems “sunshine-y” for morning breakfasts, and the cardamom because I can’t get enough of it right now 😉

4 oz. whole-grain buckwheat blend (see below) or this whole grain flour blend
10 g. (1 T.) coconut palm sugar
12 g. (1 T.) psyllium husk powder
1 t. baking powder
1/2 t. ground cinnamon
1/4 t. ground cardamom
1/4 t. salt
1 t. fresh orange zest
1 egg
1 oz. grapeseed oil
8 oz. almond milk
1 t. vanilla

Whole-grain Buckwheat blend (makes more than needed):
1.5 oz. white rice flour
4 oz. tapioca starch
4 oz. teff flour
4 oz. buckwheat flour

Mix dry ingredients and orange zest in a large bowl. Add wet ingredients, and whisk well to smooth out the lumps. Scoop about 3/4-1 c. into a hot waffle iron, and cook as directed.

(Also shared on Slightly Indulgent Tuesdays and Allergy-Free Wednesdays.)

8 thoughts on “Sunshine Waffles

  1. Heather, this is seriously sunshine on a plate! Thank you so much for participating and being there for the GFRR. Your recipes have always made me smile (and drool, but just a little 😉 ), and I cannot wait to see what other amazing recipes you come up with.

    xoxo

  2. Really enjoyed these! I replaced the egg with applesauce, added the squeezed orange juice from the zested orange. I also used half chia meal, half psyllium. I. Added dried cranberries and mixed it all up in the blender. Oh, I also used fsh ground buckwheat groats instead of buckwheat flour!

    • Tess, wow, that sounds yummy! I’m glad you enjoyed this recipe, & felt the freedom to change it to your liking…that’s the great thing about baking! 😉

  3. Pingback: Breakfast for dinner | Discovering the Extraordinary

  4. Pingback: From the Heart of a Granddaughter – Part 1 | Discovering the Extraordinary

  5. Pingback: Lunch Sack Snacks…And Banana Bread | Discovering the Extraordinary

Leave a comment