Home » Appetizers and Snacks » Lunch Sack Snacks…And Banana Bread

Lunch Sack Snacks…And Banana Bread

lunch-sackI have to carry lunch to work several days a week right now…so let’s just say I’m getting really creative at packing lunches. Although these recipes have made it on the blog before, I figured since I still use them as my go-to recipes, they were worth sharing a second time:

This is almost like pesto, with extra protein from the chickpeas…so it makes me feel good about eating something “fancy” 🙂 (By the way, it only looks fancy; it’s super easy!) I skipped the tahini, and used GF soy sauce. Great with veggies, tortillas, on sandwiches…the possibilities are endless! green-monster-hummus

OK, so this is not your typical sack lunch…But I have packed my waffles in my lunch container twice this week (topped with peanut butter and syrup!), so I’m adding it to the list. 🙂 And did you know that some people make waffle sandwiches?? That’s genius! You can make your waffles plain (without the spices and orange zest) just as easily; the basic recipe is still the same. img_4982

This picture is not at all romantic, but it’s what one of my meals looked like this week. Sometimes that’s just how life is. 🙂 Better pictures on the recipe site…This is still one of my favorites for portable meals. southwestern-eggrolls

This may seem simplistic, but these are staples in my house right now. They work as sides for almost any meal. Also, you can add some scrambled eggs, soy sauce, ginger, and garlic, and you’ve got an instant “fried rice” dish (sort of). 

Because who wouldn’t want a little something special and unexpected in their lunch box? (and p.s. I just use 8oz of oat flour now)banana-bread-3

I hope this inspires you that lunches don’t have to be boring–or hard.

What do you put in your (or your kids’) lunch sacks? 

Leave a Reply

