Home » Adoption » Wonder

Wonder

cloudsDo you ever have moments or days where God keeps bringing up the same idea or topic to your heart in different ways? Everywhere you turn, there it is again.

God’s been doing that with me this week.

I just finished this book, and it’s about celebrating and being thankful in every moment. Keeping my heart open to wonder. Keeping a heart of wonder, a childlike heart, a heart of gratitude. This taps into God’s heart more than anything else, because my heart is open to hear and respond.green trees

I just read that in Psalm 23:6 (“Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life”), the word here for “follow” is radaph, which actually means to pursue, to run after, to chase, or hunt down. God’s goodness and mercy is intentionally pursuing me all the days of my life.

Can I even really comprehend that?

Your love, Your goodness, Your mercy actively pursues me all the days of my life. How could I ever doubt Your heart for me?

spring treeLast night I drove 100 miles to go to an adoption fundraiser basketball game for two of my friends. I actually hadn’t seen them since we’d graduated college together, but I have followed their story over the years of the adoption of their first son, and now hopefully a second son, who will be born in less than a week.adoption

I love being a part of people’s adoption stories. It keeps my heart open for what I know God eventually wants me to do in my future family. And when I really think about and grasp the miracle of God’s adoption of us as His children, that fills me with wonder, too.

God decided in advance to adopt us into his own family by bringing us to himself through Jesus Christ. This is what he wanted to do, and it gave him great pleasure.

But now in Christ Jesus you who once were far off have been brought near by the blood of Christ.

Once you were not a people, but now You are God’s people; once you had not received mercy, but now you have received mercy. 

Just think about it: God wanted us so much to no longer be orphans, to no longer be alone and purposeless in this world. So He actively pursued us. He came down and paid all of the legal fees that were owed, and said, “I want that child as My kid.”

That just makes me so grateful…

basketball kids**If you want to know more about the Camp’s adoption story, or if you feel led to donate to their adoption fund, check out their website here. **

 

Leave a Reply

