Home » Music » How Can I Keep From Singing… {What I’m Listening To}

How Can I Keep From Singing… {What I’m Listening To}

flight inLast week, I got the opportunity to go visit my grandparents who live in the “wild woods” of Virginia. It was so good to be able to just take a breath, be still, and appreciate all the beauty around me.white flower and rocks field 2 sundial clearing backyard view

I’m pretty sure that any sense of adventure or imagination I have started here, with my sisters and cousins and I playing out in these woods, and around the houses and fields of our great-grandmother and great-great aunt.barn bleeding heart forsynthia cat and sunset log pile moss--elvish! White Post francis garden

My sister recently suggested that I listen to this new album by Audrey Assad. As I was listening to it for the first time this afternoon, I discovered that it is full of old hymns–many of which I fully memorized growing up.
Her voice and the way that she sings has one of those effects that instantly just captivates and stirs up my heart…

As the familiar words came back to me, I realized that I am so grateful for the foundations of how I grew up. This expanded my horizons, and stirred up adventure in me.
In some ways, I feel like that has been buried and is just now coming alive again…oakwinds statue all roads lead home fogwhite and purple

“…Only Thou art holy; there is none beside Thee,
perfect in power, in love and purity.”

“No storm can shake my inmost calm,
While to that rock I’m clinging.
Since love is Lord of heaven and earth
How can I keep from singing?

Leave a Reply

