Home » Breads » Banana Bread in a Mug

Banana Bread in a Mug

banana bread 2There is a good and a bad side to learning how to make banana bread in a mug.
Good: I get to have banana bread whenever I want.
Bad: I get to have banana bread whenever I want. 🙂

Up until last week, my experiences with “cake in a mug” gluten free recipes consisted of chocolate cake in a mug and coffee cake in a mug. I have thoroughly enjoyed these recipes, but then I discovered this one 🙂 I saw a recipe on Pinterest for banana bread in a mug using coconut flour, but did not like it at all. So I pulled out my tried-and-true Banana Bread recipe and modified the amounts compared to my other mug recipes. While not quite as delicious as the loaf bread, it comes pretty close…and is totally worth it for a 5-minute breakfast (which I may or may not have taken to work 3 times in the last week).

banana breadBanana Bread in a Mug

4T. (1 oz) flour (I grind up oats)
1T. (.5 oz) sugar
1t. psyllium husk powder
1t. ground cinnamon
1 egg
3T. (1.3 oz) oil (I use grapeseed)
3T. (1.5 oz) water
splash of vanilla
1/2 ripe banana

Mash the banana well with a fork (I do this directly in the mug). Add all other ingredients, stirring well (make sure the egg is well beaten). Use a small whisk to smooth out as many lumps as you can. Microwave for 1 1/2-2 1/2 minutes (microwave times will vary).

Enjoy!!

2 thoughts on “Banana Bread in a Mug

  1. Hi Heather–This recipe looks and sounds terrific! If I had a banana ready to go, I’d make this recipe using certified gluten-free oat flour or my gf flour mix right away. Thanks so much for linking back to my 3-Minute Chocolate Cake recipe. 🙂

    Happy Valentine’s Day!
    Shirley

Leave a Reply

