Home » Decorating » Thoughts on Decorating…and Re-decorating

Thoughts on Decorating…and Re-decorating

front entry Ok, I’ll admit it…Ever since Fixer Upper arrived on Netflix, I may or may not have watched the whole first season in less than a week. I like it because it doesn’t make me want to go out and buy a bunch of stuff. It actually inspires me to use what I already have to create a beautiful home…and I may or may not have gone on a redecorating spree of my entire house. This doesn’t mean I spent a lot of money, however. In fact, the only thing I’ve bought so far was this awesome old wooden window frame from the antique store for $10. (I’ve always wanted one that I didn’t pay an arm and a leg for, so I was happy with this. 🙂 wooden window frame

It started in my guest room, which now has a travel theme. This corner is my favorite part: an old globe from my grandparent’s house, and a collection of trinkets and pictures from some of my own travels.travel room

Soon, my enthusiasm spread through the house. I rearranged my bedroom, the living room, even took the doors off of two of the cabinets in my kitchen. Unfortunately, I am not an all-in-one-weekend decorator…these changes have spanned several weekends (usually my only time to decorate), and it’s still a work in progress. This is how I try to figure out what to put on the big blank wall in my bedroom:decorating in progress

Here’s what I’m learning, though:

  • Surround yourself with things YOU think are beautiful. What brings joy to you and your family? What makes you at peace? These are the things that should go on your mantle, bookshelves, and walls.
  • If you don’t like something, get rid of it, give it away, or change it. I am planning on repainting several canvases I have had around the house. Right now, several of my walls are blank, because I’m taking down everything that I don’t really like. And it’s kind of peaceful. I know that when I do put something else up (if at all), it will be because I really like it.
  • Get creative with what you already have. I am amazed at the things that I can make or create myself, using things that I already have. Or just moving furniture or wall decor from one room to another. Even if it’s not exactly how I want it yet, it’s getting there. The process is half the adventure.

I have a whole section of my site under the Links tab for some of my very favorite decorating blogs. These are so inspirational to me, and really encourage me to make things beautiful around me now–embracing what I already have and where I’m at–to create a life of beauty and gratitudeHome sign

One thought on “Thoughts on Decorating…and Re-decorating

Leave a Reply

