Home » Appetizers and Snacks » Fresh Green Beans, Neighbors, and Living Grateful

Fresh Green Beans, Neighbors, and Living Grateful

My heart is so full of gratitude. green beans in the kitchen

This week, I have been given fresh peaches (by two different people!), fresh green beans from some dear, precious friends, and fresh zucchini and yellow squash from a co-worker…and I am loving every bit of it. 🙂

But it’s not just about the food. For me, it’s a reminder that God is a provider–not just of food (though who could say no to garden-fresh veggies and fruit?!), but also He provides me with friends, with laughter, with love, with creativity, with encouragement, and with hope. My sweet friends’ generosity reminds me to receive His goodness. And my escapades in the kitchen remind me to embrace this moment and enjoy each day.

“Oh, taste and see that the Lord is good!
Blessed is the man (and woman) who takes refuge in Him!
…those who seek the Lord lack no good thing.”
(Psalm 34:8,10, ESV)

I’m pretty sure that the smell of sautéing onion and garlic makes the kingdom of God come into my kitchen! 😉 green beans

And, just for fun, some of my latest kitchen adventures:

For those days when I really, really don’t want to go to the grocery store, I am learning to get creative with my food. With only a few simple ingredients that are almost always at the house, it turns out pretty good most of the time.

Everyday spaghetti with fresh basil from my garden…Notice the paper towel napkin 🙂 spaghetti
This is my favorite granola (except this time I didn’t have coconut, flax seeds, or nuts, so I just doubled the oats), with fresh peaches from a neighbor …yes I’m standing in the middle of my kitchen eating while I hold the bowl. This is how I do breakfast most mornings.granola with peaches
Homemade enchilada sauce
…this tastes like deep south Mexico…and making from scratch is not hard at all!
Makes me proud of myself 🙂
(I only added 2 T. chili powder because I don’t like a lot of heat…for the filling, I ran out of cheese, but found ranch-style black beans; you can also use Refried beans inside, too)…add some minute rice, and voila!enchilada - red sauce

At first, I had no idea how to cook fresh green beans (that’s something I’ve never tackled before). But I found this easy recipe from The Pioneer Woman, and…oh. my. goodness. I don’t think I’ll ever go back to canned green beans again! They were so good!!green beans 2

So enjoy the harvests of summer (from your garden or a friend’s), embrace the moments you have today, and live creatively and full of gratitude! 

Leave a Reply

