Home » Cookies » Shortbread Icebox Cookies

Shortbread Icebox Cookies

photo 5Summer is a great time for “icebox” cookies…Or, in other words, homemade slice and bake cookies 🙂

I’m excited to introduce my new recipe for shortbread icebox cookies, with 4 different variations. This all started because I needed to make something for a baby shower I was a hostess at. I had tried a new recipe with a shortbread crust that turned out to be a failure…the crust fell apart everywhere. But fortunately (because the first recipe was a small one) I had made lemon shortbread cookies on the spur of the moment. I was currently out of eggs for regular cookies, so I pulled out three of my favorite cookbooks, added in a few tricks that I have come to know about gluten free baked goods, and made up this recipe. I was pleasantly surprised with the texture of the dough, and was soon experimenting with different flavors the next week. I’ve always wanted to try an improved version of my original Earl Grey shortbread cookies, so the new option is listed below as well (personally, I like these even better!)

photo 2-4

Lemon Poppyseed

photo 1-5

Earl Grey cookies

So without further ado…

Shortbread Icebox Cookies

Basic recipe:
2 c. (6.5 oz) old-fashioned rolled oats
1/4 c. (2.2 oz) sugar (this time I used organic white sugar in the raw)
1 t. psyllium husk powder
pinch of salt
1 t. baking powder
1/4 c (2.2 oz) coconut oil, melted
3 T. almond milk (or other milk of choice)
1 t. vanilla

Pulse the oats and sugar in a food processor (I actually use a coffee grinder but have to pulverize in batches). Then place this mixture into a large bowl. Add remaining ingredients and combine well. Form the dough into a roll, about 1 3/4″ in diameter for regular-sized cookies.

Wrap in wax paper and refrigerate at least 1 hour (You can also freeze the dough at this point, but if you do, pull it out to dethaw in the fridge overnight before slicing). Slice the roll and bake on cookie sheet lined with parchment paper.

Bake at 350 degrees F for 12 minutes, or until the bottom of the cookies are golden brown. Let cool completely.
Makes about 18 cookies.

Variations:
– For lemon shortbread: use 3 T. lemon juice instead of almond milk
– For lemon poppyseed: use 3 T. lemon juice instead of almond milk, plus 1 T. poppy seeds
– For Earl Grey shortbread: empty 2 Earl Grey tea bags of their tea leaves (about 1 T.) and add to mix

photo 4

Leave a Reply

