Home » Appetizers and Snacks » Spice Cake (2 ways!) + Other Homemade Gifts :)

Spice Cake (2 ways!) + Other Homemade Gifts :)

pumkin carving fun 2Let me be the first to say that I try not to think about planning for Christmas in any way until the day after Thanksgiving. The ladies at my office put up 3 Christmas trees last week, and started listening to Christmas music….too soon! I wanted to say. However, some holiday preparations and gift-giving may take a little extra time and planning…but in the end, it is worth it.

Such is the case with my Etsy shop, Bitty Gifts. I have many items–mostly crocheted, and all handmade–that would make lovely gifts for Christmas time. I carry crocheted animal/character hats, booties and other shoes for babies/kids; accessories, scarves, and jewelry for women, home decor, and more! I would love for you to have a look, and see if there is anything that you would like to order for any of your special friends or family members. However, the last day to order to guarantee delivery in time for Christmas is this Friday, November 21st. The reason for this is that every item is custom-made, and I also have to allow time for delivery during the holiday rush. Of course, you can place orders after this date, but I cannot guarantee whether or not it will make it to its destination in time for Christmas day. So come on over and have a look (click here)! Bitty Gifts LogoHolidays are also a great time for baking, and I wanted to share an easy recipe that has become one of my new favorites. 🙂

In looking for something to make for my life group this week, I ran across this recipe for gluten free Pumpkin Squares on my Pinterest board. It looks easy and yummy! So if you try it, leave a comment to let me know how it tastes 🙂 However, I did not have any pumpkin on hand, nor time to go to the grocery store…So I tweaked the recipe and created this very easy Applesauce Spice Cake! In the original recipe, there are a sequence of steps to follow. In a streak of rashness (at least according to my normal methods of recipe making), I did not follow these directions, but simply mixed all of the ingredients together all at once, and then whisked extra after that to get any lumps out. Then, I poured the batter into the greased pan and popped it straight into the oven. Without any icing, this is more of a bread (I reduced the amount of sugar slightly), and goes great with hot tea (or coffee)!

Applesauce Spice Cake

4 eggs
15 oz unsweetened applesauce
1 c. coconut palm sugar
1 c. sour cream (or plain yogurt)
2 c. gluten free flour
2 t. baking powder
1 t. baking soda
1/2 t. salt
2 t. cinnamon (or to taste)
1/2 t. ginger or nutmeg (or to taste)

Bake at 350 degrees F in a greased 9×13″ pan for 25-35 minutes, or until knife inserted comes out clean.solice

Leave a Reply

