Home » Random Musings » From the Heart of a Granddaughter (Part 2)

From the Heart of a Granddaughter (Part 2)

imageSeveral months ago, I wrote a post about the grandmothers in my life (you can read it here), with the intention of doing another on grandfathers. I haven’t forgotten, but am just now getting to this one. And since this weekend was one of my grandfathers’ birthdays, I figured it would be the perfect time to sit down and write this. 🙂

There is so much to say about the impact that parents and grandparents have on future generations. But often, this goes unnoticed. For me at least, unless I intentionally choose to remember the good things that I have learned from my grandparents (or anyone, for that matter), I often take them for granted. So this post is more about choosing to intentionally remember, and be grateful.

Where to start…My paternal grandfather loves to work with wood, and passed on that hobby to my dad. Since this set of grandparents live out of state, I do not get to see them as often now. But growing up, my family and I would visit them about every 3-4 months. They had several acres of land, and woods right in their backyard (a novelty to me who grew up in a place with few trees). It is here that I played “pretend” with my sisters, as we would gallivant through the woods and go on all sorts of adventures. I liked to ride the bright orange tractor with my grandfather while he went to clear some brush or pick up firewood (they had a real fireplace that let out tons of heat!). He is always serving other people, whether offering food, or giving them something that he has made on his wood lathe.

My maternal grandfather is an artist. Really, a real one. He has been drawing ever since he was little. He’s worked for advertising companies in the past, too. But he is most well-known within his circle of friends for his “doodles” and caricatures. But what he calls “doodling” is not really doodles…Usually, they are very detailed pen-and-ink drawings–often of little villages with animals, mailboxes and/or winding roads–that he has created in his head. And he makes the best cards. For people’s birthdays or other special occasions, he would draw caricatures of that person on large pieces of cardstalk, and write little ditties to go with the card. He taught me and my sisters art lessons growing up, and would take us on field trips so that we could draw animals and still life (like windmills, landscapes or museum art) in person. He isn’t able to draw as much anymore, but there is always this fun, humorous, and creative side that will always be a part of who he is. He still loves to crack jokes and make people laugh, and I love hearing him tell stories about life. He has always been fascinated by history, and I think he has passed this on to me, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

