Home » Appetizers and Snacks » Strawberry Apricot Oat Bars

Strawberry Apricot Oat Bars

apricot jarI don’t know about you, but I tend to live by lists. Even on my days off, my time is filled and defined by the dreaded “to do” list. This morning, I decided to look at my “to do” list differently. I decided that I’m going to look at it instead as a list of opportunities for today. Yes, most of these are things that have to be done. But even in the midst of the “have to’s,” there is opportunity: opportunity to create, to see beauty, to sing, to laugh, to enjoy those closest to you.

Don’t miss this opportunity, but embrace it. Even in the midst of laundry and phone calls and paperwork and dirty diapers, there are still moments for joy–if we open our eyes to see it.apricot strawberry oat bars 2

On that note, one of my opportunities for today was to make something for my life group tonight. With no previous plan when I went to the grocery store earlier this week, I looked in my fridge to see what I had on hand: apricot jam left over from this apricot mustard chicken we ate last week. I also had some strawberries that I had frozen recently. Then I saw this yummy-looking recipe on Pinterest, and pinned it to my “To Make GF” board…this may be the first one of those recipes that I’ve actually tackled 🙂

I semi-thawed my strawberries, and cut them into smaller pieces. With helpful ideas from this cookbook, I also made these dairy free, since I had no yogurt on hand.

Strawberry Apricot Oat Bars
(adapted to be gluten free and dairy free from this recipe by Tasty Kitchen)

2 oz. (roughly 1/3 c.) buckwheat flour
2 oz. (roughly 1/3 c.) cornstarch
12 g. (1T.) psyllium husk powder
4.5 oz. (1 1/2 c.) gf rolled oats
2.8 oz. (1/2 c.) coconut palm sugar
1 t. baking powder
1/4 t. salt
1 T. cinnamon
1.5 oz. (3 T.) coconut oil, not melted

3 oz. (1/3 c.) coconut oil, melted
1 oz. (2 T.) unsweetened applesauce
1 t. vanilla

10 oz. (1 c.) apricot jam
4.6 oz. (1 c.) chopped strawberries

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease an 8×8″ pan with coconut oil (think shortening techniques, but healthier!). In large bowl, combine dry ingredients. Break the 1.5 oz of coconut oil into small pieces, and use your hands to knead it into the mixture. Set aside.apricot strawberry oat bars 5

In small bowl, melt the 3 oz. coconut oil in the microwave, then add applesauce and vanilla and stir. It won’t really mix well (coconut oil and applesauce are like water and oil), but just pretend, and do the best you can 🙂 Then add this mixture to the dry ingredients mixture, and combine till a dough forms.

Put half of the dough into the 8×8′ pan, pressing down evenly to make the crust. You will have to spread the dough very thinly to make it even, and to cover the entire bottom of the pan. If it doesn’t fit perfectly, don’t worry about it.apricot strawberry oat bars 4 Bake for 10 min., or till slightly golden (with buckwheat flour, you may have to look closely, as it’s hard to tell).

Remove dish from oven, spread with apricot jam, then strawberries, and evenly top the fruit with the rest of the dough, pressing down evenly. Again, this top layer will not completely cover it, but try to make it as even as possible. (No one likes to get a mouthful of dough!) Bake for 20 more minutes, until golden on top.apricot strawberry oat barsLet it cool on a cooling rack at least 15 minutes before cutting, and then serve.

 

Leave a Reply

