Home » Traveling » Around the World in 80 Recipes {& More!} – Part 5

Around the World in 80 Recipes {& More!} – Part 5

passport photo19. Show Hope Sponsor Vision Trip {China}
This summer I get the opportunity to go to China!! I am so excited about this trip! I will be going with Show Hope, a ministry that was started by Christian music artist Steven Curtis Chapman, and his wife Mary Beth. Show Hope enables adoption grants to be funded for couples who are waiting to bring adoptive children from around the world into their forever families. Show Hope also has specific partnerships in China, with several special-care centers across the country.

The majority of my time on this trip will be spent at the largest special care center called Maria’s Big House of Hope in Luoyang, China (Henan Province). Many of the children who come into MBHOH have special needs. Some of these medical needs are surgically correctable, and Show Hope sends medical teams to give these children the needed (and often life-saving) surgeries and other medical care.

I have been a Show Hope sponsor for a few years now. The reason that I became a sponsor was because I felt like it was a way that I could sow a seed into the future call that I believe God has placed on my heart for foster and adoptive children (both here in the U.S. and internationally).  While I currently feel called to put down roots and minister where I’m at right now, my hope for this trip is that God would continue to clarify the passion He’s put on my heart for children who don’t have families.

During this trip, I will be exploring God’s Word with my team and studying God’s heart for orphans. I will also get the opportunity   to love on some little ones and help the staff with small projects needed at Maria’s Big House of Hope. And of course I will get to do a little sight-seeing in Beijing while I’m there! 🙂

To raise money for the trip, I am selling handmade things in my Etsy shop, Bitty Gifts (click here). If you would like to purchase something to help with the cost of the trip, this would be greatly appreciated. I’ve been crocheting animal hats, flowered headwraps, and making fun word magnets. I’m hoping to continue to add new things soon to my shop for spring!hydrangea

20. The Floating Soccer Field {Thailand}
Such an inspirational story!

21. Adventures in Malta from Meals with Morri {Malta}
I first “met” Morri through the Gluten Free Ratio Rally that we used to both be a part of. I have enjoyed reading of her culinary and cultural adventures while in Malta 🙂

imagineIn case you have missed any of the incredible links for around the world (not all recipes; some are inspirational stories and videos about courageous people), here are the links:

Part 1
Part 2
Part 3
Part 4

One thought on “Around the World in 80 Recipes {& More!} – Part 5

  1. Pingback: Chinese guotie (potsticker dumplings) | Discovering the Extraordinary

Leave a Reply

