Home » Appetizers and Snacks » The Year in Retrospect

The Year in Retrospect

farm eggs 3Taking my cue from one of my favorite blogs, instead of posting the top recipes of the year, I’m going to highlight in this post a few of the things that have most inspired me this year. These are not in any particular order of importance. But they are all significant to me, and I hope that you enjoy them as well 🙂

P.S. Stay tuned  to the blog…I have several new (and good!) changes to my blog coming after the first of January, which I’m very excited about! You don’t want to miss out! 🙂

In the Land of Blue Burqas – by Kate McCord
I have already written a brief summary of my thoughts on this book in a previous post. I hope you enjoy reading my thoughts, as well as, perhaps, this book 🙂

One More Camp – the Warren family’s adoption story
I had intended on doing an entire post about adoption. I haven’t gotten it down on paper yet (so you’ll probably get that one later), but I couldn’t wait to share this story. I went to school with this couple, who have recently decided to adopt their first child. It is such an inspirational story, and I am so thrilled for them. Though I haven’t talked much about it on this blog, I have such a heart for foster care and adoption, and it’s so neat for me to see people that I know personally taking this step.princess

A Million Little Ways – by Emily Freeman
I’m in the middle of this book currently, and it is quickly making its way up to one of my very favorite books of all time, next to Lisa Bevere’s Fight Like a Girl. (Also a favorite of mine, in a different genre, is Corrie ten Boom’s The Hiding Place, in case you wanted to know that little tidbit!)
In this book, Emily talks about being an artist–not necessarily the kind of artist who paints or draws or dances. But she talks about the kind of art that is inside all of us. Even if we are bank tellers or daycare workers or stay-at-home moms, we all have a unique way to express the beauty that God has put inside of us. This is an easy read that lifts my spirits and challenges me to change my perspective at the same time.

5 Favorite Paleo Snacks
I had to include a couple recipes! 🙂 This was the most popular recipe link on my blog this year.

Energy Bites
These are my personal favorite of the year…I have made so many of these for gifts or a quick snack!

Well, that’s it for the year! Don’t forget to check back soon, because there are lots of great new changes coming to the blog at the beginning of 2014! 🙂treehouse

One thought on “The Year in Retrospect

  1. Pingback: New Changes | Discovering the Extraordinary

Leave a Reply

