Home » Breakfast » Texas-sized Breakfast Casserole

Texas-sized Breakfast Casserole

230So sorry about the lull in posts over the past couple of months. It’s not that I’ve not had any good recipes, but it’s just that other things in life have seemed to take precedence. In my most recent meal planning (the past month or so), my sister and I tend to often revolve around the same recipes, because they’re easy. Most of those have been touched on in the blog already (here and here are some good recipe roundups).

I may continue to change my blog posts to include more “random musings” and pictures of beauty and other aspects of life, not just recipes. If there’s anything specific you’d like me to touch on or a type of recipe you’d like me to post, just let me know, and I’ll see what I can do 🙂

For today, it is Texas-Style Breakfast Casserole:20130914-140050.jpgI can’t believe I haven’t posted this recipe until now! This is a great one to add to your “breakfast for dinner” list, or anytime you need breakfast for a crowd. Or, if you live by yourself or have a small family, you can split the recipe into two smaller pans, and freeze one for later. Any way you do this, it’s a winner.

Texas-Style Breakfast Casserole
This recipe is very forgiving, in that you can experiment and add things that you like, or substitute if you don’t have an ingredient. The original recipe (that I got way back when) calls for a large package of hash browns. Lately, I’ve been just chopping up small red potatoes (or whatever potatoes I have on hand) and sautéing them in a large skillet.
Confession: Ever since i saw this done in a Pioneer Woman cookbook, I’ve always felt so accomplished and professional doing it! 😉

4-5 c. potatoes (white or red), roughly chopped
1 lb. cooked ham or turkey, diced (I usually get sliced from the deli, then chop it)
1 1/2 c. shredded Cheddar cheese
8 eggs
1 c. whipping cream (or just add 1/2 c. water to the egg mixture)
1/2 t. garlic powder
1/8 t. nutmeg
salt and pepper, to taste
1 bunch green onions, sliced

Saute the potatoes in 2-3 T. olive oil, until lightly browned. Place in greased 9×13″ pan. Top with ham (or turkey) and cheese; set aside. In large bowl, combine eggs, cream (or water) and seasonings. Mix well. Pour egg mixture over casserole. Top with green onions. Bake at 350 degrees F for 55 minutes or till center is set and knife inserted comes out clean.
Makes 8-10 servings.

Leave a Reply

