Home » Random Musings » Re-defining Extraordinary

Re-defining Extraordinary

20130722-194404.jpgI watched a profound video today. It hit me right between the eyes.
I’m still processing it.
Here, she says:
“In this world, somehow, an ordinary life has become synonymous with a meaningless life. And so often we are missing what is important, because we are on the quest for what is extraordinary…Not understanding that in our ordinary lives–in the ordinary moments of our lives–is really where we can find the most joy.”
How many of us think that? How many of us second-guess the meaning of our lives?
Yet, if you think of all the people who have impacted your life personally, would you ever think that that person’s life was anything less than extraordinary–because their life touched you?

It’s kind of ironic that my blog is labeled “Discovering the Extraordinary”–because I have been struggling with this exact thing: feeling like what I do doesn’t really matter…or wondering if I could be more significant if I had a different job…or if I was in a different season of life altogether.
Truth is, I can’t do  more of anything. All I really need to do is rest—rest in who I am.
I know that I am where I’m supposed to be. And that is significant enough.

So I practice gratitude…
– Boys on bicycles
– Bird shadows
– Walking with friends
– Laughing out loud
– Giant full moon
– Watering the garden
– Sound of dishwasher running
– Fresh peppers & tomatoes

“To honor what is ordinary about our lives [by being grateful], because that is what’s truly extraordinary.”
~Brene Brown20130722-194346.jpg20130722-194651.jpg20130722-194327.jpg20130722-194319.jpg20130722-194434.jpg20130722-194501.jpg20130722-194310.jpg

Leave a Reply

