Home » Appetizers and Snacks » “Everyday” eating…Anything but boring!

“Everyday” eating…Anything but boring!

{Simple. Easy. On the table in 45 minutes or less.}20130509-200813.jpg

Lately, my sister and I have been dreaming…Neither of us know exactly how our future is going to pan out, as far as family, kids, etc…But both of us have the thought that if we end up adopting kids or something like that, we may spontaneously get multiple kids all at once….Like I said, dreaming.

So we’ve been practicing….on how to effectively budget for meals, and the ever-dreaded:

Meal planning.

I used to dread it, too. Then I read this simple guide on meal planning from Simply Sugar & Gluten Free.
I started a Google document about a month ago, so that my sister and I can edit the list, and I go to the grocery store every two weeks. It has helped us stay within budget, and I hope in the long run it will save us money 🙂 It has definitely helped me to be less stressed, knowing that we have at least something planned for dinner, even if it’s just leftovers.

Also, I’ve found a couple of new favorite blogs for meal planning (I’ve added these and updates my Links tab if you want to check out more!). Even though these are not strictly all GF, they focus on feeding our bodies with fresh, healthy food, and that always feels makes us feel better 🙂
100 Days of Real Food – recommended to me by a friend
Dinner: A Love Story – love the practical, yet inspirational ideas here

Our Bountiful Baskets have really helped with the meal planning and adding more veggies, too. We have a pretty good handful of recipes that we both enjoy, but it’s also fun to find new, great go-to recipes. I love it when my sister says, “That’s really good…Can we put it on the meal plan for next week?” One of these has been the Creamy Baked Tomato Chicken from Dinner: A Love Story (pictured above, photo credit mine). I love this…it’s easy, yet tastes to me like something from an Italian restaurant! I randomly found the recipe while browsing for meals online, and have since then thoroughly enjoyed the blog, too.
And I did go check out her book when I found my library carried it…and ended up with a total of 5 “new” cookbooks to browse through!20130509-210520.jpg

Here are a few of our favorite “everyday” meals.

Main Meals:
Creamy Baked Tomato Chicken from Dinner: A Love Story
Southwestern Eggrolls
Tostadas: toasted corn tortillas + Green Monster Hummus + fresh grated Parmesan cheese

Sides:
Fresh-roasted Broccoli from All Recipes.com
Green Monster Hummus from Namely Marley
Zucchini “Pizzas”

Snacks: (for either at work, on the road, or while waiting for dinner to be ready!)
Sunflower Seed Granola Balls
Chewy Chocolate Ginger Cookies from Daily Bites

(Shared on Allergy Free Wednesdays and Gluten Free Fridays)

5 thoughts on ““Everyday” eating…Anything but boring!

  1. Yea for meal planning! It makes my day so much easier. I am glad to hear that my series helped you stay in budget, too. How exciting! Thanks for sharing my site with your readers. I noticed you linked to a recipe on The Balanced Platter, too. Again, thanks!! And keep up with your meal planning…it gets easier. I promise.

  2. I love meal planning! I love your everyday meals that you listed!! Its always fun to share and try others favorites!! Thanks for linking up at our Gluten Free Fridays party! I have tweeted and pinned your entry to our Gluten Free Fridays board on Pinterest! 🙂

    Cindy from vegetarianmamma.com

  3. Pingback: Quick & Cheap Dinners (with Paleo options!) | Discovering the Extraordinary

  4. Pingback: Texas-sized Breakfast Casserole | Discovering the Extraordinary

Leave a Reply

