Home » Breads » Bread Pudding, gluten free

Bread Pudding, gluten free

Last week, a friend gave me the pleasure of trying something new: fresh duck eggs.

(the brown are chicken eggs, the white are duck eggs)

My first thought was “What do you do with a duck egg?” Do they taste different than chicken eggs? Can you even eat them the same way, or do you have to make them some weird way to make them edible?

Well, from everything I researched, you can cook these eggs any of the same ways that you use hen eggs. Duck eggs are bigger, so I usually only use one at a time, as opposed to two, but that is up to you. I’ve made omelets, over-easy, and scrambled eggs, and I didn’t notice any major changes in taste. But I have decided that I do like duck eggs 🙂

On another note, in these days after Thanksgiving, I was in the mood to make something “comforting,” yet simple for breakfast. Usually my go-to recipes are my blueberry quinoa or apple crumble. This time, I decided to use my leftover gluten free rolls (recipe coming soon!) from Thanksgiving to make bread pudding. The duck eggs were a perfect addition! 🙂

Bread Pudding, gluten free
This recipe is adapted from Gluten Free Easily. Before this, I’ve never been a real fan of bread pudding, because all I thought of was soggy bread. But this is not like that…it tastes like french toast to me 🙂 And this would be a great way to “make” french toast for the whole family on Christmas morning, without having to stand at the stove all morning!

4 c. gluten free bread, cut or torn into cubed pieces
4-5 lg. eggs (I used 4, but if you use chicken eggs, you may want 5)
12 oz. almond milk
3.5 oz (about 1/3 c.) agave nectar
1 1/2 T. cinnamon
1/2 t. vanilla
1/2 t. nutmeg
1/4 t. salt

Grease a 9×13″ pan with olive oil. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Cut or tear the bread into pieces (if you haven’t already).
Whisk together all ingredients, except the bread, in a large bowl.
Add bread cubes and stir together until the bread pieces are thoroughly coated. Pour mixture into the baking pan, and allow to sit for 5 minutes.
Bake for 35 minutes, or until it is browned, and not gooey when cut with a knife.

Enjoy!!
Shared on Gluten Free Fridays.

3 thoughts on “Bread Pudding, gluten free

  1. I have never made or eaten this, that needs to change! Got your recipe bookmarked! Thanks for linking up at our Gluten Free Fridays party! I have tweeted and pinned your entry to our Gluten Free Fridays board on Pinterest! 🙂

    We had a great collection over Thanksgiving! Hope to see you this Thursday for another Gluten Free Fridays link up! It will be live at 7:05 eastern US time. Cindy from vegetarianmamma.com

  2. Pingback: #glutenfreefridays #16 is LIVE! Come link up your favorite #glutenfree recipes! | Vegetarian Mamma

  3. Pingback: Breakfast for dinner | Discovering the Extraordinary

Leave a comment