Home » Appetizers and Snacks » Bento Boxes and Snacks

Bento Boxes and Snacks

20131004-070853.jpgMy latest curiosity has been “bento boxes.” This idea of bentos pops up frequently in a lot of the blogs I look at. One of my friends calls them “grownup Lunchables.” :)

Bento is actually the Japanese word for “boxed lunch.” Since the school year has started, I’ve been taking my lunch to work with me 4 days a week…I finally decided that I needed to make my lunches more interesting. The unique thing about bentos is that you can add little dividers (such as muffin cup liners) to divide the different food groups, and–the best part–you get to use your creativity to make it as cute as possible!

I like this blog’s suggestion to include in each box:
1) fruit
2) veggie
3) protein
4) healthy carbs

Here’s a look at a few of mine this week.
20131004-070841.jpg

20131004-070819.jpg20131004-070830.jpg

Though it may take a little extra plan-ahead time, it’s so worth it to have a healthy lunch that you actually want to eat! Definitely helps me on all those days I eat on the road for work :)

Below are some of my recent favorite lunchbox recipes. What are your favorites?

Baked Corn Tortilla Chips
5-minute Hummus
Southwestern Eggrolls
Sloppy Joes from Simply Sugar and Gluten Free
No-Bake Energy Bites from Gimme Some Oven

Flax Flatbread
This recipe is awesome, because it’s so versatile. I’ve used it as a crust for homemade pizza squares, or as a “toast” substitute for my over-easy eggs. You could also use it as sandwich “bread,” or spread with cream cheese or your favorite jam. This is not an original recipe, but for the life of me, I can’t find where I originally got it from. So here’s what I had written down in my recipe box. I like golden flax seed because it doesn’t have as strong of a flavor as the dark flax seed.

1 c. (3.6 oz.) ground golden flax seed (I grind mine in a little coffee grinder)
1 1/2 t. baking powder
1/2 t. salt
1 T. coconut palm sugar
3 beaten eggs
1/4 c. (2 oz.) water
3 T. (1.3 oz) grapeseed oil

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Mix all ingredients together very well, and let batter sit for 2 minutes. Grease a 9×13″ pan, and spread the batter evenly over the bottom of the pan. Bake for 20 minutes. Let cool, and then cut into desired shapes.

(This post was shared on Gluten Free Fridays.)

Leave a Reply

